๐ŸŽผ It’s a “Jolly Holiday” with sandwich…

One of the newer dining options at Disneyland is the Jolly Holiday Bakery & Cafe. We were eager to try it out. It’s located at the end of Main St., near the gateway to Adventure Land, and it has plenty of Mary Poppins-inspired charm. The menu isn’t very big, but several options looked tasty. The prices were pretty reasonable, too.

I got the turkey sandwich. I resisted the urge to order it minus the “Dijon aioli,” a.k.a mustard-mayonnaise. The sandwiches aren’t made to order, so a modification like that would have taken longer. I did sub a tiny bag of apple slices for the chips that are typically served alongside the sandwich. Having the aioli turned out to be a good choice. It had really nice flavor. The sandwich would have been fairy unremarkable without that. If we return to Jolly Holiday, I might even be tempted to order EXTRA aioli. With those apple slices, I can afford a few more calories of Dijon deliciousness. – W
Jolly Holiday
Before I get into how a hot roast beef sandwich with melted cheese was delicious… I want to explain how we found ourselves at the good ol’ Jolly H.
It was a windy night and we were looking for a place to get out of the cold. Wendy had just purchased a Mickey Pretzel and I had just waited in a 20 minutes line for the best corn dog on earth. (Review coming) We found shelter at Jolly Holiday and huddled close to enjoy our treats. As I was enjoying the last bites of food on a stick, I noticed a guy eyeing my corn dog. Then I notice the awesome roast beef sandwich he was eating. It was awkward for a moment, but I knew that the next time we came to the park we needed to eat that sandwich!
Okay, so on to the sandwich review. Here is the break down:
Hot Angus Roast Beef on toasted Onion Roll
Caramelized onions, Horseradish Aioli and white cheddar.
We went late in the day and they were out of the Onion Roll, so they substituted Texas toast. I’m not a fan of onions in general so I went without and patiently waited for my special order. It took a little longer than normal because they made it to order but that turned out to be a freshness bonus. Overall it was tasty and I wasn’t disappointed. The Horseradish was almost unnoticeable and I wish there had been more of a kick. The quality of the roast beef was really great and it all came together well. I went with the home made kettle chips as my side and I was really impressed. They were crunchy with a good density that made them a perfect pairing to a hot meat sandwich. – S

Leave a comment