Storybook Surprise

Before we pick up where Wendy left off, I have to start with some back story. I had the good fortune of spending a lot of my childhood at Disneyland. Both of my parents worked for Disney for 25 years, so going to Disneyland was like going to to the movies. I used to spend the day exploring and then spend hours at home asking my Dad, ” How does that work?” and, ” Has this ever happened?” To this day I still ask my Dad to share stories about his time at Disney and any backstage secrets. It never gets old.

I started to think I knew them all, that Disneyland had no mystery left for me, but after this last trip I know there is no end to the magic.

//Back to Storybook//

As we boarded the rocking canal boat, the ride operators seems to be rushing. I couldn’t figure out what was happening but I over heard, “I need to get one more boat out before the show starts”. We headed into Monstro the Whale’s open mouth, and a couple of bad whale jokes later the fireworks began. It was at this point that the driver said we were about to have the best seats in the house.

We pulled around the corner into a clearing and stopped. There we were behind the castle and in front of the backlot. WE WERE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ACTION! Fireworks were going off in every direction! The sound was deafening and struck your chest every time a firework went off.

The fireworks show was incredible! It was by far the most surreal moment I have ever had at Disneyland. The whole boat was in awe like little kids. You should definitely add this to your list of things to do at Disneyland. It might take some strategic timing, but it’s worth it!

20130402-164215.jpg

20130402-164311.jpg

1 thought on “Storybook Surprise

  1. one time my friend and i saw the fireworks when were near fantasy land i think by the tea cups and the fireworks had started…it was pretty cool to see the fireworks from that spot. definitely was very loud and can feel my heart pound my chest every time a firework went off! =)

Leave a comment